Utility for test suites

Discussions about Winboard/Xboard. News about engines or programs to use with these GUIs (e.g. tournament managers or adapters) belong in this sub forum.

Moderator: Andres Valverde

Utility for test suites

Postby Peter Fendrich » 10 Nov 2004, 18:52

He there!
Is there a product somewhere that lets the engine run through an epd file wihthout being forced to set search time but use depth instead?

In my new engine Alaric I want to test my move order by running testsuites. I want to run the postions in an epd file with a certain depth.
It's an uci engine only but with polyglot I can use the winboard protocol as well.

For instance in EPD2WB I have to set search time. The same for Gradualtest and Arena.

Of course I could include that function into Alaric but this time I don't want to load my engine with tons of functions (like I did in Terra).

/Peter
User avatar
Peter Fendrich
 
Posts: 193
Joined: 26 Sep 2004, 20:28
Location: Sweden

Re: Utility for test suites

Postby José Carlos » 10 Nov 2004, 21:04

I don't know of any such tool. What I'd do is just add some code like:
Code: Select all
#define TEST_DEPTH 10
...
#if defined (TEST_DEPTH)
level = depth(TEST_DEPTH)
#endif


Then, just recompile for the depth wanted, or comment out the define for normal working.
_____________________________
José Carlos Martínez Galán
User avatar
José Carlos
 
Posts: 102
Joined: 26 Sep 2004, 03:22
Location: Murcia (Spain)

Re: Utility for test suites

Postby José Carlos » 10 Nov 2004, 21:05

I forgot... then use Arena or any other normal EPD processor.
_____________________________
José Carlos Martínez Galán
User avatar
José Carlos
 
Posts: 102
Joined: 26 Sep 2004, 03:22
Location: Murcia (Spain)

Re: Utility for test suites

Postby Peter Fendrich » 10 Nov 2004, 21:25

Hello Jos?!

I also have to set a time that guarantee that the depth is reached. At least in uci this means that I have to wait the full time even if the depth is reached much faster. The uci spec says that I shouldn't exit before the gui tells me. But with polyglot...

Hmm, maybe I will write a funktion for this in the end. I have the fen/epd interpreter so it's only a "read line - setup pos - go" loop. :idea:
Thanks for answering,
/Peter
User avatar
Peter Fendrich
 
Posts: 193
Joined: 26 Sep 2004, 20:28
Location: Sweden

Re: Utility for test suites

Postby Richard Pijl » 11 Nov 2004, 00:37

You can use Gradualtest by Odd Gunnar Malin. Although it takes the time per position as an argument, you can force it to return early by sending an initialization string, eg:

gradualtest /i test.epd /o test.out /t 999999 /s "xboard\nprotover 2\nsd 6\npost" engine engineargument

Richard.
User avatar
Richard Pijl
 
Posts: 105
Joined: 26 Sep 2004, 21:09
Location: Minderhout, Belgium

Re: Utility for test suites

Postby Peter Fendrich » 11 Nov 2004, 02:18

Richard Pijl wrote:You can use Gradualtest by Odd Gunnar Malin. Although it takes the time per position as an argument, you can force it to return early by sending an initialization string, eg:

gradualtest /i test.epd /o test.out /t 999999 /s "xboard\nprotover 2\nsd 6\npost" engine engineargument

Richard.


You're right in that Gradualtest uses time and otim which polyglot translates to "go wtime x btime y" but unfortunately polyglot doesn't seem to understand the sd followed by otim and time. The depth is never sent from polyglot to Alaric.
I can however hardcode the depth like Jos? suggested and it should work.
/Peter
User avatar
Peter Fendrich
 
Posts: 193
Joined: 26 Sep 2004, 20:28
Location: Sweden


Return to Winboard and related Topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests