Using my engine on ICC with Arena GUI

Programming Topics (Computer Chess) and technical aspects as test techniques, book building, program tuning etc

Moderator: Andres Valverde

Using my engine on ICC with Arena GUI

Postby Richard Allbert » 20 Feb 2005, 22:11

Hi,

I have programmed my own engine, and last night tried to play on ICC using Arena as a GUI. I could get the engine to seek ok (tellics seek 2 1 u), and a game would be played... however when the game was over (opponent resigned), Arena did not seem to send a command to the engine saying so... an so my engine starts another game and plays an illegal move straight away (thinking the game state is still that of the previous game).

Am I missing something????

Thanks for your help!

Richard
Richard Allbert
 
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Sep 2004, 11:56
Location: Aschaffenburg, Germany

Re: Using my engine on ICC with Arena GUI

Postby Thomas Mayer » 20 Feb 2005, 23:16

Hi Richard,

as far as I know there exists still some problems with Arena and ICC... You may try with WinBoard, which is working very stable.

Greets, Thomas
User avatar
Thomas Mayer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 26 Oct 2004, 13:45
Location: Germany

Re: Using my engine on ICC with Arena GUI

Postby Pallav Nawani » 21 Feb 2005, 02:24

xiphosura wrote:Hi,

Arena did not seem to send a command to the engine saying so... an so my engine starts another game and plays an illegal move straight away (thinking the game state is still that of the previous game).

Richard


Arena probably does not send a result command in some cases, but it will certainly send a 'new' command to your engine before starting a new game. Use that to reset your game state.
User avatar
Pallav Nawani
 
Posts: 147
Joined: 26 Sep 2004, 20:00
Location: Dehradun, India

Re: Using my engine on ICC with Arena GUI

Postby Richard Allbert » 21 Feb 2005, 16:49

Sure enough.. winboard is much much better.

The only thing to do now is automate the seek after the game, and all is well.

Oh, and I need to work out how to get winboard to save games :)
Richard Allbert
 
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Sep 2004, 11:56
Location: Aschaffenburg, Germany

Re: Using my engine on ICC with Arena GUI

Postby Volker Pittlik » 21 Feb 2005, 17:05

xiphosura wrote:...
Oh, and I need to work out how to get winboard to save games :)


Add
Code: Select all
/saveGameFile="c:\chess\WinBoard\savegame.pgn"
to the winboard.ini. Adjust the path and filename to your needs of course.

Volker
User avatar
Volker Pittlik
 
Posts: 1031
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 10:14
Location: Murten / Morat, Switzerland

Re: Using my engine on ICC with Arena GUI

Postby Richard Allbert » 18 Jun 2005, 08:30

Thanks!

Richard
Richard Allbert
 
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Sep 2004, 11:56
Location: Aschaffenburg, Germany

Re: Using my engine on ICC with Arena GUI

Postby eric_oldre » 20 Jun 2005, 18:55

does anyone have a link to a tutorial/instructions about how to get Winboard to work with an ICS?

I'm sick of the time losses that Latista seems to get under arena. (hopefully fixed in the next arena release)
eric_oldre
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 14 Dec 2004, 20:42
Location: Minnetonka, Minnesota

Re: Using my engine on ICC with Arena GUI

Postby Volker Pittlik » 20 Jun 2005, 19:11

eric_oldre wrote:does anyone have a link to a tutorial/instructions about how to get Winboard to work with an ICS?...


If you can read German I can offer:

http://volker-pittlik.name/winboard/texte/ics.htm.

If you don't get it I (or someone else) can translate the important parts tomorrow.

Volker
User avatar
Volker Pittlik
 
Posts: 1031
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 10:14
Location: Murten / Morat, Switzerland

Re: Using my engine on ICC with Arena GUI

Postby Pallav Nawani » 20 Jun 2005, 20:56

eric_oldre wrote:does anyone have a link to a tutorial/instructions about how to get Winboard to work with an ICS?

I'm sick of the time losses that Latista seems to get under arena. (hopefully fixed in the next arena release)


Here you go:
http://www.tim-mann.org/xboard/zippy.README

This paragraph is important for automatic seeking:

-zippyGameEnd string
At the end of each game, Zippy sends this string to ICS,
followed by a newline. If you do not set this option, the
string "gameend" is sent. This is not a legal ICS command,
but you can alias it to whatever you like, or you can leave
it undefined, which will cause ICS to print a harmless error
message after each game. If you want to send more than one
command at the end of the game, on ICC you can alias gameend
to a "multi" command (see the ICC help files), but on FICS that
does not work. Instead, use the -zippyGameEnd option to have
a string of several commands sent, with newlines in between.
For example, you could give WinBoard the command line option
-zippyGameEnd='say thanks\nseek 5 0\nseek 2 12\n'
You could give xboard the command line option
-xrm '*zippyGameEnd: say thanks\nseek 5 0\nseek 2 12\n'

Pallav.
User avatar
Pallav Nawani
 
Posts: 147
Joined: 26 Sep 2004, 20:00
Location: Dehradun, India

Re: Using my engine on ICC with Arena GUI

Postby eric_oldre » 21 Jun 2005, 15:43

I was able to get it working after a bit of experimentation. I discovered a few bugs in how latista handles finished/new games that never popped up in arena, so I'll need to get those updated before letting it play online. If you want, keep an eye out for the "Murderhole(C)" account on FICS.

Thanks for your help!
eric_oldre
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 14 Dec 2004, 20:42
Location: Minnetonka, Minnesota


Return to Programming and Technical Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests